Ronnie Lovejoy

Southern Soul Blog
Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


Ronnie Lovejoy

Truly a legend of soul/blues in the modern era, Lovejoy wrote some of the best soul blues cuts of the last quarter century. Classics and great artists who covered them include "Sho' Wasn't Me" (Tyrone Davis, Otis Clay & Chuck Roberson), "Given' My Love To The Other Man" ( Little Milton, Vernon Garrett, Kip Anderson), "In Need Of A Good Woman" (Willie Clayton), "Live In Woman" (Pat Brown) & many many more. People began calling him "the new Z.Z. Hill" because he was more than just a songwriter/producer but also a gifted singer/recording artist- blessed with a deep, rich baritone that packed an emotional wallop! His first record came out on Evejim in 1992, followed by two for Ace, 2 for Avanti and one final outing for Goodtime Records before his premature death at age 51. He is a deeply revered and missed legend of the music world.

Album Discography

"Suddenly" (Evejim 1992)

1. Suddenly
2. I Still Love You
3. I Miss Her
4. Giving My Love To The Other Man
5. Miss Rudolph
6. I'm Leaving
7. This Is The Last Time
8. Going Back To My Wife

"My Baby's Cheating On Me" (Ace 1995)

1. Cheating on Me
2. Party All Night Long
3. Rock My Cradle
4. You Got to Know
5. Can't Leave Love Alone
6. You Can't Run Away from Love
7. Set the World on Fire
8. In Need of a Good Woman
9. It's Alright
10. Until You Get Enough of Me
11. Starting All Over
12. Evil Eye of Love

"Think About You All The Time" (Ace 1996)

1. Think About You All the Time
2. Sleeping in Someone Else's Bed
3. Baby Take Me
4. Take It Personal
5. Tell the Truth
6. Never Feel Like This Before
7. Send You Back to Mother
8. Thank You
9. Dumb Rat
10. Head Down Blues
11. Dirty Dance
12. Shout It Out
13. Nothing Takes the Place of You

"Until You Get Enough Of Me" (Avanti 1998)

1. Until You Get Enough of Me
2. I Need Somebody
3. Lying Loving or Leaving
4. What's Done in the Dark
5. Keep on Singing the Blues
6. Doesn't Get Any Better
7. Not Like It Used To
8. Please Come Home
9. Bring It On
10. Missing You
11. God Will
12. Falling in Love Again
13. What Does It Take
14. Rock and a Hard Place

"Nobody's Fault But Mine" (Avanti 1999)

1. Nobody's Fault but Mine
2. A.P.B. Out on Me
3. Love Doctor
4. Steet Thang
5. Both to Blame
6. Sho Wasn't Me
7. Ain't Gonna Get my Love
8. Midnight Flight
9. Live In Man
10. A Good Time
11. Tears
12. Give My Life

"Still Wasn't Me" (Goodtime 2000)

1. Still Wasn't Me
2. Spend The Rest Of My Life
3. Evidence
4. This Bed Ain't Big Enough
5. All About The Money
6. Nothin' Bother Me
7. Duck
8. Can You Feel Me
9. What The Blues Is All About
10. My Time

Home Southern Soul Blog CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us