Dr. Feelgood Potts

Southern Soul Blog
Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


Dr. Feelgood" Potts   BUY CDS


Robert Potts was born into a large family in Greenwood, MS. In 1967, he moved to Memphis to start his career in music. His first stop was an audition at Stax Recording and Hi Records. . In, 1970 he penned and recorded his first 45 single entitled, "Funky Postman" and "Under Your Spell." These releases lead to him appearing on local television, The Talent Party and Swing Shift. In the 1980's he landed a recording contract with 8th Street Records. Several singles were released including "Lost In The County Jail", "Seven Years Blues", and several cover tunes. The recordings were jukebox favorites. He also is a successful songwriter penning the tune "Don't Make Me Late," by Johnnie Taylor, which he co-wrote with George Jackson.

In 1995 Dr. "Feelgood" started his own Record label, RLP Records. He released a single in 1996 and a full length CD in 1997. The CD, entitled "Love Starved," consisted of ten songs, {a combination of blues, soul, and a harmonica instrumental.} In January of 2000,he released a second RLP CD entitled "Blues Me 4 U LOSE ME." But his real break came when he signed with Ecko Records where he has released two discs. His biggest hit so far has been "Make It Talk". Potts is the father of singer Sheba Potts-Wright. In 2007 he dropped his first, bona fide blues album "Going Back To Memphis".

Album Discography

Img324.jpg "Love Starved" (RLP 1998)

1. Love Starved
2. Ain't It Lonesome
3. Let Me Love You Baby
4. A Heyday Loving You
5. Wake up and Smell the Coffee
6. The Same Old Moon - Dr. Feelgood Potts, Potts, DeFeelgood
7. Hotter Than a Firecracker
8. Sweet Loving Hen
9. Don't Take My Money
10. Home-Town Boogie

"Blues Me 4 U Lose Me" (RLP 2000)

1) Blues Me 4 U Lose Me
2) Grandmom's Cherry Pie
3) Slipping Around
4) I Found My Groove
5) Electric Slide 2000
6) I Need A Little Luck
7) The Midnight Creeper
8) Don't Ask Me For No Money Honey
9) Electric Slide 2000 (Instr)
10) Holiday Blues

Img325.jpg "Dr. Feelgood Potts" (Ecko 2003) LISTEN

1. Here's Your Drawers
2. Awesome
3. Aphrodisiac
4. Too Much Teasin'
5. Let's Slip Out Tonight
6. Let's Get a Quickie
7. I Love the Way You Slow Roll That Thing on Me
8. One Way Street
9. You Can't Keep Your Pants Up
10. Hoochie Contest
11. Dance Your Rump Off

Dr. Feelgood Potts "Make It Talk" (Ecko) "Make It Talk" (Ecko 2004)

 1. Make It Talk
2. Mixed Up In Your Love
3. Hard Working Lady
4. Just What The Doctor Ordered
5. All Blues Saturday
6. All These Changes
7. Blusin And Crusin
8. Red Onions
9. I Love The Way You Slow Roll That Thing On Me
10. Aphrodisiac

"Going Down To Memphis" (Pottstown 2007) LISTEN

1. Going Down to Memphis
2. Ramblin' Mind Blues
3. Juke Joint Blues
4. My In-Laws
5. Dab of Your Love, A
6. Delta Blues
7. Pistol Packing Mama
8. Greenwood Mississippi Town
9. I Love You Baby
10. Break Away

"Memphis Blues International" (Pottstown 2010)

1. Memphis Blues International
2. Beale Street Stomp (Harmonica Instr.)
3. Leave Well Enough Alone
4. Gravy Train Blues
5. Going And Buy Me Some Whiskey (The Whiskey Song}
6. My Mother In-Law
7. I Wanna Get Physical With You
8. Home Town Boogie (Harmonica Instr.)
9. I Can't Joy Ride (The Gas Song)
10. Monkey Doing Man


Home Southern Soul Blog CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us