Cicero Blake

Southern Soul Blog
Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


Cicero Blake cicero blake Buy CDs

Born on February 20th, 1938, in Jackson, Mississippi, Cicero moved to Chicago with his family in the early 1950s and settled on the west side. Blake singing career began in a church choir, then the Golden Tones while still in high school, and he performed in military shows in the Air Force. Cicero Blake's was the original lead singer of the group, who evolved into the Kool Gents, the group that sprung Dee Clark After leaving the group Blake made many solo recordings for small Chicago labels (Brainstorm, Renee, Success, etc.). When he got the chance to record for a major label-Brunswick Records in 1967--the two tracks he cut "You Got Me Walking," and "A Woman Needs To Be Love" were shelved for 20 years. He recorded his first single, "Don't Do This To Me" for Success Records in 1962; though he never charted, many of his R&B singles "Sad Feelings," and "If I Had My Way," found acceptance with Northern Soul lovers. "Love Is Like A Boomerang" received more attention then previous efforts. Blake continued working and recording throughout the 70's, 80's, and 90's while holding down a job working for Cook County as one of the Maywood Park Districts' commissioners. He recorded two albums for the California-based Valley Vue Records, followed by a pair of LPs for Johnny Vincent's Ace imprint. In the 2000s Blake had only two albums to his name- one for Mardi Gras in 2003 and one for Hep' Me in 2008. A new album is due in 2010.

Album Discography

cicero blake too hip to be happy with "Dip My Dipper" "Too Hip To Be Happy" (Valley Vue 1988)

1. Dip My Dipper
2. Don't Throw Your Love on Me So Strong
3. Too Hip to Be Happy
4. I Saw It Coming
5. School of Life
6. She's Cheatin' on You
7. Oh Pretty Woman
8. I've Got to Use My Imagination

Just One Of Those Things" (Valley Vue 1993)"Just One Of Those Things" (Valley Vue 1993)

1. Don't Wanna Blow My Chance With You
2. Just One of Those Things
3. Laundromat Blues
4. Low Down Dirty Blues
5. Caught in the Wrong Again
6. High Steppin' Mama
7. Don't Even Try It
8. Girl I'm in Love With You
9. As the Years Go Passing By
10. That Love Is Gone
11. I'm Into Something
12. Things That I Used to Do

cicero blake wives night out.jpg "Wives Night Out" (Ace 1996)

1. Wives Night Out
2. Getting the Best of Nothing
3. Turn Your Porch Light On
4. Telling Her About You
5. Love Like a Woman
6. Time to Get up (Go Home)
7. I Saw It Coming
8. Let It Roll
9. I'm the Man for You
10. I Got the Touch If You Got the Time

ciciero blake stand by me.jpg "Stand By Me" (Ace 1998)

1. Stand by Me
2. Give Me Something to Come Back To
3. You're the Keeper of My Flame
4. I Got to Find a Black Cat Bone
5. Great Pretender
6. This Time Around
7. Somebody Is Telling Our Business
8. I Got to Talk to Your Man
9. Telling Her About You
10. Time to Get up (Go Home)

cicero blake ain tnothing wrong"Ain't Nothing Wrong" (Mardi Gras 2003)

1. Ain't Nothing Wrong
2. Let's Go Dancing
3. Waiting on You
4. Jump
5. It's the Weekend
6. Stroke You
7. Shake It Up
8. If It Wasn't for the Woman
9. Can't Keep My Hands to Myself
10. Walk Away

"Here Comes The Heartache: The Soul Years" (Grapevine 2004) "Here Comes The Heartache: The Soul Years" (Grapevine 2004)

1. Should I Go
2. Could This Be Love
3. See What Tomorrow Brings
4. Don't Do This to Me
5. Take It from Me
6. Soul of Pain
7. Sad Feeling
8. You're Gonna Be Sorry
9. Step by Step
10. If I Had My Way
11. Loving You Woman Is Everything
12. Shing-A-Ling
13. Here Comes the Heartache
14. Face the Case
15. Don't Wait Until Tomorrow
16. Bad But Beautiful Bag
17. Woman Needs to Be Loved
18. You Got Me Walking
19. Your Love Is Like a Boomerang
20. How Can I Go on Without You?
21. Doin' What Comes Naturally
22. Dip My Dipper
23. Be Good to Me
24. Don't Wanna Blow My Chance with You

"It's You I Need" (Hep' Me 2008) LISTEN

1. It's You I Need
2. Saturday Night Feelin
3. You're So Good to Me
4. It's You I Need
5. How Can I Go On
6. Day Makes a Difference, A
7. I Don't Want to Love No Body But You
8. South Side Saturday Night
9. Stranger in My House
10. Some Where Private
11. Livin Double

"I'm Satisfied" (CDS 2010) LISTEN

1. I Can't Go on Mrs. Jones
2. Dip My Dipper (What U Say)
3. I'm Satisfied
4. She Works the Night Shift
5. I Want Some More of Your Love
6. Into Something
7. It's the Blues Uprising
8. You're No Good
9. Here Comes the Heartaches
10. I'm Satisfied [Extended Version]
11. In the Vibe Room/Let Jesus Lead You

"Cicero" (CDS 2013) LISTEN

1. Be Careful of My Heart
2. Damn Fool
3. We're Gonna Have a Party
4. Yes I Do
5. It's You I Need
6. Caught in the Wrong Again
7. The Nightshift
8. Get the Hell On
9. That Love Is Gone
10. It's the Blues Uprising
11. I'm into Something (Original Version)

"Greatest Hits" (CDS 2015)

1. I'm Into Something
2. Dip My Dipper
3. Here Comes The Heartaches
4. It's You I Need
5. Damn Fool
6. She Works The Night Shift
7. I'm Satisfied
8. I Can't Go On Mrs Jones
9. It's The Blues Uprising
10.Be Careful With My Heart
11.I Want Some More
12.(Hidden Track)

Buy CDs

Home Southern Soul Blog CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us