Betty Padgett

Southern Soul Blog
Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


Betty Padgett  Betty Padgett BUY CDS

Betty Padgett was born in New Port, NJ but her family moved to Florida where she began her singing career. Initially she lead a girl group dubbed Betty and The Q's. The quartet also included Shirley Smith, Carolyn Griffen and Mary McCoy. They gigged locally before Betty joined other groups which augmented her performance credits to include overseas treks to Switzerland, Germany, Paris, Mexico and Belize. She released her first record, "Sugar Daddy" in 1976 to little fanfare. A 1981 effort, "Sweet Feeling", fared better garnering some regional airplay. All the while she toured with Latimore and TK Records artists Jimmy Bo Horne, David Hudson, and R.B. Hudman.

In the mid-90s Betty sang with Joey Gilmore and band before finally getting another shot at the studio. Two TT's Records released "30 Second Man" in 1998. To promote the record she teamed up with local "white godfather of the blues and soul" Motel Mel and formed Betty Padgett & the Right Stuff band, which has racked up plenty road mileage throughout the gulf coast. Her fourth release, "Closet Lover", dropped in 2004 but it was in 2006 when she really began to make her mark. Her CD "Never Coming Home" and the single of the same time have already made an impact in the Southern Soul market.

Album Discography

"Sugar Daddy" (Ultra Production Corp 1976)

1 It Would Be A Shame
2 My Eyes Adore You
3 Sugar Daddy (part 1)
4 Tonight Is The Night
5 Never Never Never
6 Gypsy Of Love
7 Sugar Daddy (part 2)
8 Rocking Chair
9 Love Me Forever

Betty Padgett Betty Padgett "Sweet Feeling" (Suntown 1981) LISTEN

1. Breaking Up Somebody's Home
2. How Can You Say You Love Me
3. Do It In The Name Of LOve
4. I'd Rather Be An Old Man's Sweetheart
5. I Can't Love You No More
6. Sweet Feeling
7. Beat Me Rocking, Have My Chair
8. Victim
9. You Said You Were Mine

Betty Padgett 30 Second Man "30 Second Man" (Two TT's 1998) LISTEN

1. 30 Second Man
2 Shut Your Mouth
3 You're Gonna Make Me Cry
4 Dream On
5 He Made My Day
6 I'd Rather Go Blind
7 Funny
8 No Medication
9 30 Second Man (Club Version)

 "Closet Lover" (Heaven Bound 2004) "Closet Lover" (Heaven Bound 2004) LISTEN

 1. Get on the Dance Floor
2. Closet Lover
3. I Can't Wait
4. Inthe Middle of Falling in Love
5. Mature
6. Ninety-Nine Pounds- Long Version/Club Mix
7. Why
8. Crazy Over You
9. I'm Getting What I Want
10. When a Woman Loves a Man That's How Strong Medely
11. Picture

Betty Padgett Never Coming Home "Never Coming Home" (Meia 2006) LISTEN

1. Sneaking Around
2. Come on Over
3. Best Friend My Lover
4. Never Coming Home
5. Rock Your Boat
6. Hey Boy
7. I Found a Love
8. Bounce
9. Perfect Man
10. Check Yourself

"The Real Deal" (Brimstone 2009) LISTEN

1. I Made It
2. Got to Make a Change
3. Old Man Young Man
4. Shook It Off
5. I Love You
6. I'm for Real
7. Paying Bills and Poppin' Pills
8. Let Your Mine Go Back
9. Perfect Man
10. Come on Over

"I Didn't Take Your Man (You Gave Him To Me)" (Brimstone 2012)

1. Nobody but You
2. I'm Available
3. Sorry (We Couldn't Make It Work)
4. He Do Things Your Money Can't Do
5. I'm Losing a Good Man
6. Do It in the Name of Love
7. I Didn't Take Your Man
8. Feelin Real Good
9. I'm a Brand New Me
10. Your Time to Cry
11. At the Downbeat


Home Southern Soul Blog CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us