Artie Blues Boy White

Southern Soul Blog
Soul Blues Charts
Southern Soul Radio
Soul Blues Artists
Blues Critic Awards
Contact Us


artiepromo2.jpg BUY CDS

Artie "Blues Boy" White

White was born April 16, 1937 in Vicksburg, Ms. Like many blues singers he started with Gospel and sang with a spiritual group, The Harps Of David, at the age of 11 prior to coming to Chicago in 1956. White continued to sing gospel, now with the Full Gospel Wonders. White switched over to blues in the early 1960s. Over the next two decades, he recorded a number of singles with independent labels such as P&M, Gamma, and Al Tee. Titles include "Gimme Some Of Yours", "Lookin' For A Good Time", "Love Like Yours (Is Hard To Find)", "Rough Enough", "She's The One" & "Bad Intentions". White briefly reached #99 on the R & B charts with "You Are My Leanin' Tree" in 1977. But it wasn't until 1984 that he recorded his first full-length album for Ronn Records called "Blues Boy" that reprised his smash "Leanin' Tree". The LP made more noise with the popular singles "Jimmie" and "Chain Of Fools". Artie adopted "Blues Boy" as part of his name. He then signed with Ichiban in 1987 and waxed six fine sets in the soul-blues vein- two of which even charted on Billboard's R & B charts. In an era when synthesizers and fleeting drum program sounds dominated black music, Artie produced soulful blues with real musicians. When Ichiban closed shop Artie was signed to a three-album deal with Waldoxy, a Malaco affiliate. After three  albums with Waldoxy Artie started his own label (Achilltown) and released four albums prior to his death.

Album Discography

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy "Blues Boy" (Ronn 1985)

1. Warm Room
2. Leaning Tree
3. I Need Someone
4. Chain of Fools
5. Turned Out
6. Funny How Time Slips Away
7. Jimmie
8. What Pleases You, Pleases Me

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy Nothing Takes The Place Of You "Nothing Takes The Place Of You" (Ichiban 1987)

1. Wondering How You Keep Your Man
2. How Could You Do It to Me
3. Lies I Want to Hear
4. All You Got
5. Funny How Time Slips Away
6. Nothing Takes the Place of You
7. Something Good Goin' On
8. Ever Loving Man
9. I Found a Woman
10. I Need Someone

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy Where It's At "Where It's At" (Ichiban 1988)

1. Too Weak to Fight
2. I Dig My Gig
3. One Woman's Man
4. That's Where It's At
5. Love Ain't Been Used
6. Nobody Wants You When You're Old and Gray
7. God Bless Our Love
8. Proud to Be Your Man
9. Day or Two

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy Thangs Gotta Change"Thangs Got To Change" (Ichiban 1989)

1. Thangs Got to Change
2. Rainy Day
3. I Ain't Takin' No Prisoners
4. You Upset Me Baby
5. Thank You, Pretty Baby
6. Hattie Mae
7. I Wonder Why
8. Reconsider Baby
9. Somebody's on My Case

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy "Tired Of Sneaking Around" (Ichiban 1990)

1. Today I Started Loving You
2. Thinking About Making a Change
3. Jodie
4. Peeping Tom
5. Tired of Sneaking Around
6. Don't Pet My Dog
7. Can't Get You Off My Mind
8. I Can't Seem to Please You
9. Turn About Is Fair Play
10. Nose to the Grindstone

Artie Blues Boy White Bluesboy "Dark End Of The Street" (Ichiban 1991)

1 Tore Up
2 Clock Don't Tick
3 Nite Before Pay Day
4 Not In The Begging Business
5 Somebody Changed My Sweet Baby's Mind
6 The Dark End Of The Street
7 Hit The Nail On The Head
8 I Intend To Take Your Place
9 Darlin' You Know I Love You
10 I'm Mean

The Best Of Artie White "The Best Of Artie White" (Ichiban 1991)

1. Today I Started Loving You Again
2. Nothing Takes the Place of You
3. Tore Up
4. Tired of Sneaking Around
5. Jodie
6. Dark End of the Street
7. That's Where It's At
8. Nobody Wants You When You're Old and Gray
9. Funny How Time Slips Away
10. Hattie Mae
11. Thangs Got to Change

Artie BluesBoy White Hit And Run"Hit And Run" (Ichiban 1992)

1. Doctor, Doctor
2. Hit and Run
3. Nothing But The Blues
4. You Left Me Standing
5. Bad Luck Child
6. I'm Glad You Gone
7. Just Getting In
8. You Build My Hopes So High
9. Mr. Mailman
10. I'm A Lonely Man

artie white different shades "Different Shades Of Blue" (Waldoxy 1994)

1. I'm Gonna Marry My Mother-In-Law
2. Hot Wired My Heart
3. There's Nothing I Wouldn't Do
4. When You Took Your Love from Me
5. Willie Mae Don't Play
6. I've Been Shackin'
7. Did Alright by Myself
8. Ain't Nothing You Can Do
9. I'd Rather Be Blind, Crippled and Crazy
10. All in the Open Now

artie white home tonight"Home Tonight" (Waldoxy 1997)

1. Your Man Is Home Tonight
2. Somebody's Fool
3. Man of the House
4. If You Don't Love Me
5. Black Cat Scratchin'
6. High Steppin' Mama
7. More You Lie to Me, The
8. Second Chance
9. Feet Must Be Tired
10. One Step from the Blues

artie white can we get together "Can We Get Together" (Waldoxy 1999)

1. Can We Get Together
2. How Long
3. When You Leave Don't Take Nothin
4. I Can't Afford to Be Broke
5. Lonely Lady
6. Back at the Hotel
7. Made to Order
8. My Dessert
9. No More
10. One More Time

artie white american roots blues"American Roots: Blues" (Ichiban 2002)

1. I Dig My Gig
2. One Woman Man
3. Jodie
4. Turn About Is Fair Play
5. Nose to the Grind Stone
6. Clock Don't Tick
7. Nite Before Pay Day
8. I'm Mean
9. Nobody Wants You When You Are Old & Gray
10. Hattie Mae
11. Doctor, Doctor
12. Hit and Run
13. You Left Me Standing
14. Bad Luck Child

artie white cant get enough "Can't Get Enough" (A Chill Town 2002) LISTEN

1. Cant't Get Enough
2. Not The Same Person
3. Love You Don't Know About
4. I'm Crazy About You Baby
5. My Best Friend
6. Monkey Dog 2000
7. Trap
8. I've Been Down So Long
9. Adorable One
10. I'll Make It Better

Artie Blues Boy White Blues In The Past"Blues In The Past"(A Chill Town 2003)

1. Breaking Up Somebody Home
2. Somebody Loan Me A Dime
3. Hard Luck Blues
4. Make My Get Away
5. I Don't Know
6. Jawbreaker
7. I'm A Man
8. Woke Up This Morning
9. Woman Lied
10. Blues Shadow Falling
11. We gonna Make It

Artie White Lee Shot Williams Cicero Blake "Chicago Deep" (P-Vine 2003)

1. Warm Room
2. Leaning Tree
3. I Need Someone
4. Chain of Fools
5. Turned Out
6. Funny, How Time Slips Away
7. Jimmie
8. What Please You, Please Me
9. Checkin' Out - Lee Shot Williams
10. Baby Baby - Lee Shot Williams
11. Dip My Dipper - Cicero Blake
12. Be Good to Me - Cicero Blake

artie white first thing tuesday "First Thing Tuesday Morning" (A Chill Town 2004)

1. Love to See You Smile
2. First Thing Tuesday Morning
3. Man Down There, A
4. Trying to Hoodoo Me
5. She Hit Me from the Blind Side
6. I Promise
7. Crosscut
8. You, You
9. Crush on My Next Door Neighbor
10. Jodie

Artie Blues Boy White Package Deal Southern Soul Blues"Package Deal" (A Chill Town 2005) LISTEN

1 - Chinese Shuffle
2 - Third Party
3 - Package Deal
4 - Breakfast on The table
5 - Bag Lady
6 - How Long Can This Go On
7 - Can't Watch A Pussycat
8 - When Leave Don't Take Noting
9 - Truck Load of Loving
10 - I Make A Mistake


Home Southern Soul Blog CD STORE Soul Blues Charts Southern Soul Radio Soul Blues Artists Blues Critic Awards Contact Us